Find Books
Books come in multiple formats, from the printed page to digital representations. You can find books by using our online catalog or you may want to browse the shelf. Marketing print circulating books are located in the "HF" section on the second floor of Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library. The Reference section is located on the first floor to the left of circulation use the same Call Numbers as the circulating books listed below, however, they must be used within the Library.
Below is a brief overview of the most relevant subject headings in the "HF" subclass (refer to the Library of Congress tab for a more detailed view):
HF 5410-5417.2 Marketing. Distribution of products
HF 5419-5422 Wholesale trade
HF 5428-5429.6 Retail trade
To shelf browse by call number, please refer to the following detailed Library of Congress call numbers to help narrow and refine your search.
Subclass H
H 1-99 Social sciences (General)
Subclass HA
HA 1-4737 Statistics
HA 29-32 Theory and method of social science statistics
HA 36-37 Statistical services. Statistical bureaus
HA 38-39 Registration of vital events. Vital records
HA1 54-4737 Statistical data
HA 154-155 Universal statistics
HA 175-473 By region or country
Subclass HF
HF 1-6182 Commerce
HF 294-343 Boards of trade. Chambers of commerce.
Merchants' associations
HF 1014 Balance of trade
HF 1021-1027 Commercial geography. Economic geography
HF 1040-1054 Commodities. Commercial products
HF 1701-2701 Tariff. Free trade. Protectionism
HF 3000-4055 By region or country
HF 5001-6182 Business
HF 5381-5386 Vocational guidance. Career development
HF 5387-5387.5 Business ethics
HF 5410-5417.5 Marketing. Distribution of products
HF 5419-5422 Wholesale trade
HF 5428-5429.6 Retail trade
HF 5429.7-5430.6 Shopping centers. Shopping malls
HF 5437-5444 Purchasing. Selling. Sales personnel. Sales executives
HF 5446-5459 Canvassing. Peddling
HF 5460-5469.5 Department stores. Mail order business. Supermarkets. Convenience stores
HF 5469.7-5481 Markets. Fairs
HF 5482-5482.4 Secondhand trade
HF 5482.6-5482.65 Black market
HF 5484-5495 Warehouses. Storage
HF 5520-5541 Office equipment and supplies
HF 5546-5548.6 Office management
HF 5548.7-5548.85 Industrial psychology
HF 5549-5549.5 Personnel management. Employment management
HF 5601-5689 Accounting. Bookkeeping
HF 5691-5716 Business mathematics. Commercial arithmetic Including tables, etc.
HF 5717-5734.7 Business communication
Including business report writing,
business correspondence
HF 5735-5746 Business records management
HF 5761-5780 Shipment of goods. Delivery of goods
HF 5801-6182 Advertising
Find Reference Books
County and City Extra; Annual….Data Book REF HA 203 .C68
Sourcebook of County Demographics REF HA 203 .S68
Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics REF HA 203 .S66
State Profiles: the Population and Economy of Each U.S. State REF HA 203 .S74
- Dictionary of Marketing Terms byCall Number: HF 5803 .T56 2000 E-BOOKISBN: 9780764180132Publication Date: 2000More than 4,000 definitions cover all aspects of the advertising industry in Dictionary of Marketing Terms.
- Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new windowThe Gale Directory Library hosts a variety of directory products, several of which the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library subscribes. There is a choice of searching individual directories or cross-search multiple directories, such as Encyclopedia of Associations, Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, Market Share Reporter, National Faculty Directory, and Wards Business Directory. (Gale - Direct)
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis is a database of cross-searchable encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, such as Encyclopedia of Global Industries. Options to search with no limiters, select Publication Title and enter search term, or select category from a drop down menu: Business, History, Literature, or Religion. (Gale - Direct)
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowUpdated monthly, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the U.S. It includes tables, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites. (Proquest – Direct)
Find Print Circulating Books and E-Books
- e-Book Business Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Search through 16,450 recent e-books on business and economics topics. (EBSCO-Direct)
- Harvard Business Publishing Collection (eBooks through EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThe Harvard Business Review Press eBook Collection includes more than 600 titles suitable for readers at the undergraduate and graduate levels.
Just Business by Call Number: HF5387 .H55 2008 (Available as e-book)ISBN: 9780830875917Publication Date: 2009"An ethical man is a Christian holding four aces." So said Mark Twain. But practicing Christians, at least, want to be ethical in all areas of life and work--not just when they are holding four aces. To those faced with the many questions and quandaries of doing business with integrity, Alexander Hill offers a place to begin.Alexander Hill carefully explores the foundational Christian concepts of holiness, justice and love. These keys to God's character, he argues, are also the keys to Christian business ethics. Hill then shows how some common responses to business ethics fall short of a fully Christian response. Finally, he turns to penetrating case studies on such pressing topics as employer-employee relations, discrimination and affirmative action, and environmental damage. This is an excellent introduction to business ethics for students and a bracing refresher for men and women already in the marketplace.
Marketing in the 21st Century by Call Number: HF 5415 .M2194 2007ISBN: 9780275992767Publication Date: 2007v. 1. New world marketing / Timothy J. Wilkinson and Andrew R. Thomas, volume editors -- v. 2. Interactive and multi-channel marketing / William J. Hauser and Dale M. Lewison, volume editors -- v. 3. Company and customer relations / Linda M. Orr and Jon M. Hawes, volume editors -- v. 4. Integrated marketing communication / Deborah L. Owens and Douglas R. Hausknecht, volume editors.
The Self Starting Entrepreneurs Handbook by Call Number: HD 62.5 .A44 2014ISBN: 9781502475206Publication Date: 2014Starting your own business venture doesn't have to be hard, The Self Starting Entrepreneurs Handbook will help you turn your dream of being a self starting entrepreneur into a reality.By creating a winning business plan, picking the right name for your business, obtaining a business license, and creating a marketing strategy for your new business are just the basics of building the empire of your dreams.
