Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

Business, General

Need business information? Don't know where to start? Select a tab to find databases, journals, articles, books, and other information to help with your research needs.

Business, General

Welcome to the General Business subject guide.  Although it is not comprehensive, it will point you to the most useful databases, journals, books and reference sources, and online information.  It will assist you in both basic and advanced research.  Updating is done periodically so keep an eye out for information about new resources and search tips. 

Looking for Books? You can find books by using our online catalog or you may want to browse the shelf.  Business print Circulating books are located in the "H" section on the second floor of Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library. Reference books are located on the first floor to the left of the circulation desk.

Below is a more detailed breakdown of the Library of Congress Classification call numbers most commonly associated with business.

  • H - general
  • HA - statistics
  • HB - economic theory, demography
  • HC - economic history and conditions
  • HD - industries
  • HE - transportation and communication
  • HF - commerce
  • HG - finance
  • HJ - public finance

The Books tab lists selected books, both online or in print. These may be located in the Reference section (first floor to the left of circulation), or available electronically. Reference books use the same Call Numbers as the circulating books listed above and must be used within the Library.

Looking for articles? Journal articles can be found in print journals (located in Periodicals), online in databases and at the Journals home page. The Journals tab lists journal titles searchable in the Online Catalog, UD Discovery, or by using Full-Text Journal Finder. The Full-Text Journal search will point you to print, online and database resources.

The Databases page identifies databases that the University of Dallas subscribes to. It is a great place to find articles relating to business research, history, and theory. Specialized databases have a high subject content while the related general database tab contains multiple disciplines in varying measures. Subscribed databases, e-books, and e-journals require a University Network Account for use in the computer centers, from a remote location, or from a wireless device. 

The Internet Resources tab provides links to other helpful internet resources.

Citing Sources contains information on various citation styles available and how to use them.

Loading