This is the "Biblical Study and Scholarship Resources" page of the "Biblical Study and Scholarship Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biblical Study and Scholarship Resources  

Last Updated: May 4, 2012 URL: http://udallas.libguides.com/biblicalstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Biblical Study and Scholarship Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Exciting new access...

We are pleased to announce that Blakley Library provides easy online access to the Old Testament Abstracts Online and the New Testament Abstracts Online databases.  These scholarly sources provide in-depth information and research on the Old and New Testament.

 

Blakley Library Resources for Biblical Study and Scholarship

Click here for books of interest for Biblical scholarship recently added to the Blakley Library collection.

Blakley Library has a rich collection of Biblical study tools.  Use the tabs across the top of this page to aid in identifying specific sources which may be useful. Please note that the sources listed in this guide are only a starting point. The lists of resources are not comprehensive and there are many other excellent resources that space did not permit to be included.

More general resources are also very useful for Biblical studies.  These include databases (e.g. ATLA, Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online, Academic Source Complete, etc.), journals (e.g. Journal of Theological Studies, Modern Theology, etc.) and encyclopedias (e.g. New Catholic Encyclopedia).  These and other general sources are included in the Religion and Theology Subject Guide.  

Although most of the print sources listed in this guide are reference copies (shelved in the reference section of the library on the first floor), we do have circulating copies of many of the titles.  Check the online catalog to see what's available.  And if you want to browse through the print books on the Bible, this link will provide an overview of where they are located (click on "Subclass BS, the Bible" for detailed list).

Cover Art
The Catholic Study Bible
Call Number: REF BS 192.3 .A1 2006

 
 

Recently Added Bible Scholarship Reference Sources

Cover Art
The Scripture Documents - Bechard, Dean P.
Call Number: BS 587 .S37 2002

Cover Art
Interpreting the Bible: a Handbook of Terms and Methods - Tate, W. Randolph
Call Number: REF BS 511.3 T38 2006

Cover Art
Dictionary of Major Biblical Interpreters - McKim, Donald
Call Number: REF BS 501 .A1 H57 2007

Cover Art
Oxford Bible Atlas - Curtis, Adrian
Call Number: REF BS 630 .O96 2007

 
 

Recently Added Circulating Books

The Book of Hosea.  Andrew Dearmann.  BS 1565.53 D43 2010
Divine Providence in the Bible: Meeting the Living and True God, Old Testament, v.1.  John H. Wright.  BS 544 .W75 2009
Divine Providence in the Bible: Meeting the Living and True God: New Testament, v.2.  John H. Wright.  BS 544 .W75 2009
Galatians and Romans.  Brendan Byrne. BS 2685.53 .B97 2010
The Hebrew Gospel and the Development of the Synoptic Tradition.  James R. Edwards.  BS 2555.52 .E39 2009
Introducing Romans.  Richard Longenecker. BS 2665.52 .L66 2011
Paul's Letter to the Romans: a Commentary.  Arland Hultgren.  BS 2665.53 .H85 2011
Reading Job: a Literary and Theological Commentary.  James L. Crenshaw.  BS 1415.53 .C74 2011
Riddles of the Fourth Gospel: An introduction to John.  Paul N. Anderson.  BS 2615.52 .A65 2011

 

Biblical Study and Scholarship Resources

Need assistance in finding sources for Bible research and scholarship?  Contact Susan Vaughan, the Blakley Library religion/theology subject specialist at svaughan@udallas.edu or 972-721-4130. 

Additionally, research assistance is available at the Blakley Library Help Desk, reflib@udallas.edu or 972-721-5315.

 

How are we doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip