A guide to resources for Professor Cox's Spring 2017 Stage Design Course
Theatre World 2009-2010
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Theatre World is a yearly history of productions with play information and photos of some plays. UD has 1955 to the present.
Victorian and Edwardian Fashion
Publication Date: 1982-01-01
A noted photohistorian documents bonnets, capes, frock coats, caps, shawls, bodices, and crinolines as people actually wore them from 1840 through 1914. More than 200 photos depict aristocrats and the middle class as well as Oscar Wilde, Lillie Langtry, Winston Churchill, Queen Victoria, and others. Commentary and annotations describe and identify the costumes.
Publication Date: 1988-12-01
Victorian Women Travel Writers in Africa
Publication Date: 1982-11-01
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
The British Aesthetic Tradition
Publication Date: 2013-03-18
The British Aesthetic Tradition: From Shaftesbury to Wittgenstein is the first single volume to offer readers a comprehensive and systematic history of aesthetics in Britain from its inception in the early eighteenth century to major developments in Britain and beyond in the late twentieth century. The book consists of an introduction and eight chapters, and is divided into three parts. The first part, The Age of Taste, covers the eighteenth-century approaches of internal sense theorists, imagination theorists and associationists. The second, The Age of Romanticism, takes readers from debates over the picturesque through British Romanticism to late Victorian criticism. The third, The Age of Analysis, covers early twentieth-century theories of Formalism and Expressionism to conclude with Wittgenstein and a number of views inspired by his thought.
- Academic Source Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing with abstracts for more than 9,300 journals. It has 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The PDF content goes back to 1865. (EBSCO - TexShare) Remote Access with University Network Account
This searchable database encompasses over 1 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Images can be used for presentations through the use of internal software. Contributors to the collection, to name a few, are museums, institutions, photographers, scholars, and libraries. (ARTstor – Direct)
Provides access to archived scholarly journals, JSTOR is commonly referred to as "Journal STORage." It contains disciplines that are divided into several modules. UD subscribes to only three of many modules: Arts and Humanities I, Arts and Humanities II, and Language and Literature. Journals may be browsed or searched, and the full text is for most titles begin with volume 1. Although some issues begin in the 1800s, all have an embargo, which may be as far back as 8 years. That is, none are published in the current years; and it is a “moving wall” so the last date changes each year. Some of the titles are continued to the present in Project Muse. (ITHAKA – Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account.
Art Source contains over 640 full-text journals covering all areas of art and architecture, including art history, archaeology, costume design, industrial design, photography, pottery, textiles, and more. The database includes research articles, podcasts from leading museums, a collection of more than 100,000 images, and art-reproduction records. (EBSCO - Direct)
- Project Muse
Online collection of hundreds of full text journals from scholarly publishers. All participating journals are peer-reviewed, scholarly titles. It continues some of the journals that are found in JSTOR. (Muse - Direct)
- LexisNexis Academic Universe
You can use Lexis Nexis to find production history info through newspaper articles.
- National Portrait Gallery
You can search for portraits, including paintings, from different times in the history of the United Kingdom. Founded in 1856, the aim of the National Portrait Gallery, London is ‘to promote through the medium of portraits the appreciation and understanding of the men and women who have made and are making British history and culture, and ... to promote the appreciation and understanding of portraiture in all media’.
- The Victoria and Albert Museum
As the world's leading museum of art and design, the V&A enriches people's lives by promoting the practice of design and increasing knowledge, understanding and enjoyment of the designed world. You can search for items from different eras.
- Furman Theatre Digital Database
This archive was created to contain and catalogue the slides Furman Theatre has taken during its various shows over the years. This interface allows you, the user, to access the database and search and/or browse its contents. You can search for Oscar Wilde or other plays with similar settings/set designs.
- Bibliography on the History of Art
Indexes architecture & decorative arts from late antiquity to the modern times. Sources include books, catalogs, dissertations, essays, and journals. Published with RILA in English & French from 1975 to 2007, it is continued by IBA- International Bibliography of Art. (Getty) Free Web Access Access
- Google Reverse Image Search
Instructions for using Reverse Image Search to find out where Internet images originate from.
- Script Analysis for Designers
Some basic techniques for script analysis
A link to the login page for RefWorks. If you have not created an account, you may do so here.
- RefWorks LIbGuide
A guide to using the RefWorks citation software.