This is the "Home" page of the "Publishing Resources for Faculty" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Publishing Resources for Faculty  

A guide to the ins and outs of publishing and journals for faculty at the University of Dallas
Last Updated: Oct 10, 2016 URL: http://udallas.libguides.com/Publishing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Open Access Information

  • Beall's List of Predatory Publishers
    Have you received an offer from a journal to publish your work but aren't quite sure about it? Check this list to see if they are considered a "predatory" publisher.
 

Find journals the easy way!

UD access to journals is obtained through direct subscriptions, subscriptions to journal packages (e.g. American Chemical Society Journal Package, JSTOR) and databases (e.g. Academic Source Complete, ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials).  To browse the list of packages and databases available, check out the Databases A-Z list located on the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library home page under "Resources".

In general, the journals available through the journal packages and databases are not included in the online catalog.  Although direct subscriptions are included, these are only a few hundred of the many thousands of journals available in a full-text format to UD faculty and students.

You can quickly and easily find the full-text options available for a specific journal by using the Full-Text Finder link which is located on the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library home page under "Resources".  Enter the name of the journal and you will get a list of the various full-text options.  Note the date information to determine the best link to use.  

Print-only journals are shelved by their LC call number in the open stacks in the Periodicals Room so for these you will need to check the online catalog under the journal title to get the LC call number.  (Note:  Very recent issues of print journals are shelved alphabetically by title on the current issues shelves.)

University of Dallas Databases

  • UlrichsWEB
    Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. It covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
  • UD Discovery
    UD Discovery is a meta-search of most items (not everything) that UD Libraries have, including books, articles, etc.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sarah Brown
Contact Info
972-721-4128
sbrown@udallas.edu
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Susan Vaughan
Contact Info
972 - 721-4130
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip