This is the "General Resources" page of the "PHI 3345 - From Modern to Postmodern Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PHI 3345 - From Modern to Postmodern Philosophy   Tags: course guides  

Last Updated: Dec 5, 2016 URL: http://udallas.libguides.com/PHI3345 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Meta-Search Tools

  • UD Discovery
    UD Discovery is a meta-search of most items (not everything) that UD Libraries have, including books, articles, etc.
  • Google Scholar
    Scholarly articles and citations available on the web. Double check that these are scholarly articles. Google Scholar can show you where an article was cited which can help you find more information.

Interlibrary Loan

Useful General Databases for Philosophy

  • JSTOR
    Provides access to archived scholarly journals, JSTOR is commonly referred to as "Journal STORage." It contains disciplines that are divided into several modules. UD subscribes to only three of many modules: Arts and Humanities I, Arts and Humanities II, and Language and Literature. Journals may be browsed or searched, and the full text is for most titles begin with volume 1. Although some issues begin in the 1800s, all have an embargo, which may be as far back as 8 years. That is, none are published in the current years; and it is a “moving wall” so the last date changes each year. Some of the titles are continued to the present in Project Muse. (ITHAKA – Direct)  Remote Access with University Network Account.
  • Academic Source Complete
    A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing with abstracts for more than 9,300 journals. It has 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The PDF content goes back to 1865. (EBSCO - TexShare) Remote Access with University Network Account
  • Project Muse
    Online collection of full text peer-reviewed journals from scholarly publishers. This collection complements JSTOR. (Muse)  Remote Access with University Network Account.
 

Locate Books on a Philosophical Topic

To locate books on philosophical topics:

1.  use the Blakley Library online catalog

2.  search WorldCat

3.  look for books of interest in the footnotes/bibliographies of books, articles in subject encyclopedias, and articles in journals

 

Peer Review

 

Boolean Searching

Librarian Info

Profile Image
Liz Barksdale
Contact Info
ebarksdale@udallas.edu
972-721-5350
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Susan Vaughan
Contact Info
972 - 721-4130
Send Email

Subject Guide

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip