Welcome to the Journalism, Mass Media, and Communication Subject Guide.
Although it is not comprehensive, this guide will point you to the most useful databases, journals, books, reference sources, and online information for this topic. It will assist you in both basic and advanced research. Updating is done periodically, so keep an eye out for information about new resources and search tips.
Research Strategy: Having trouble getting started? This tab will give you some pointers.
News Resources: This tab provides a list and description of selected news resources available from the Library (in print, databases and online).
Legal Resources: In addition to the Library's online holdings, this tab includes freely accessible links to legal sites.
Databases: This tab contains links to Library databases related to journalism, mass media, communication and related topics.
Books: See below for some general tips on shelf browsing. The tab contains list of reference sources and selected print books, as well as links to the e-book collection of the Library.
Journals: This tab includes direct online journals subscribed to by the Library and selected print journals located in the Periodicals wing.
Internet Resources: This tab contains web resources in journalism, mass media and related topics.
Looking for Books?
You can find books by searching our online catalog or you may wish to browse the shelf. Shelf browsing allows you to discover items collated by subject. Below is a high level view of the classification system. KF is located on the 2nd floor of the library and P, PN are on the 3rd.
- P 87-96 - Communication, Mass media
- PN 1990 - 1992.92 - Broadcasting, Radio and Television Broadcasts
- PN 4699 - 5650 - Journalism, the periodicals press, etc.,Technique in newspaper publishing; Practical & amateur journalism.
- KF 4700 - Journalism and law on freedom of speech
A few selected titles (online or in print), for more selected titles, see the Books Tab.
- Encyclopedia of Journalism 6 vol. The six-volume Encyclopedia of Journalism will cover all significant dimensions of journalism including: print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; and history, technology, legal issues and court cases, ownership, and economics. The set will contain approximately 3,000 pages in all and approximately 350 signed entries from scholars, experts, and journalists, under the direction of leading editor Christopher Sterling of The George Washington University. Reference Collection Ref. PN 4728 .E48 2009
- News Flash : journalism, infotainment, and the bottom-line business of broadcast news by Bonnie M. Anderson. This e-book was published by Jossey-Bass, 2004. Bonnie calls her book an "optimistic callto demand honest and fair news reporting,"
- Taking journalism seriously : "objectivity" as a partisan cause by Richard H. Reeb, Jr. Published by University Press of America, 1999. An attempt to locate the proper role of the mass media in American society. The author examines two of the more celebrated events in journalistic history--the New York Time's publishing of "The Pentagon Papers" and CBS News' airing of the documentary "The Selling of the Pentagon"--both of which appeared in 1971. He explores whether the journalistic practices of these events were merited, and proceeds to compare them with precedences set by Walter Lippman, James Reston, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson, and Alexander Hamilton. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR. Circulating Collection PN 4888 .O25 R44 1999
- The Encyclopedia of the First Amendment (2 vol.); published by CQ Press in 2009. This should help with information on Freedom of expression, freedom of the press, etc. Reference Collection Ref. KF4770 .E53 2009
Activated your Student ID card to allow you to check out library materials?
Set up an Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) account so you can request materials UD doesn't own?
This guide is created by Melissa Randall & Marjie Lorica, and licensed by University of Dallas William A. Blakley Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.
You may reproduce any part of it for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. I encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.