Business Subject Librarian Liaison
Citing Your Sources
A summary for Citing Sources contains brief, general examples without referencing specific styles.
A recommended online source to various style guides is The Purdue OWL.
A print copy of Cite Right; A Quick Guide to Citation Styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions and More" is available in the Library in the Reference collection: Ref PN 171 .F56 L55 2011.
RefWorks, an online research management tool, is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store, and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. Material found in our electronic databases, online catalog, even internet resources can be imported into RefWorks to create correctly formatted bibliographies in more than 1500 citation styles.
To create your RefWorks account, you must either do so on campus by going here, or off-campus by going here.
To learn how to use RefWorks in 20 minutes, watch these videos from ProQuest RefWorks.
Get References from Databases: Check out this page from RefWorks. It has text-based instructions for wide variety of databases and information sources and should help get you on your way to creating your RefWorks library.
RefWorks Help describes all the different ways you can add references to your RefWorks account in greater detail.
From the numerous style guides, the following selections are recommended to assist you with citing sources when you have a research paper or project that requires source documentation.
APA (American Psychological Association)
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 6th ed. REF BF 76.7 .P83 2010
Mastering APA Style: Student's Workbook and Training Guide REF BF 76.7 .G45 2002
The APA offers free tutorials for “The Basics of APA Style” and “What's New in the Sixth Edition”. The APA also has FAQ online with examples of citing.
MLA (Modern Language Association)
The MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing 7th ed. REF PN 147 .G444 2008
The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers 3rd ed. REF LB 2369 .G53 2009
Chicago/ Turabian
The Chicago Manual of Style 15th ed. REF Z 253 .U69 2003
A useful online guide to the 15th ed. of the Chicago Style is available from the University of Chicago Press, provides guidelines for general studies.
Turabian is based upon the Chicago Style, and it provides guidelines for specific research, dissertations, and theses.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertation: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers, 8th ed. by Kate Turabian REF LB 2369 .T8 2013
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineCompletely searchable and easy to use, The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. It is the indispensable reference for writers, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers, informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice.
- Cowan - Blakley Memorial Library Copyright PolicyThe Library's official copyright policy
- Copyright Law of the United StatesThe complete full-text of U.S. Copyright Law, with a choice of formats for downloading.
Public Domain
Some materials are in the public domain, which means the intellectual property is not owned or controlled by any person or entity. Materials in the public domain can be used freely, although they may need to be properly cited. Determining copyright terms and what is in the public domain can be difficult; this site is an informational starting point.
Copyright Term and Public Domain This chart, developed by Peter B. Hirtle and maintained at the Cornell Copyright Information Center at Cornell University, lists copyright terms of various types of published and unpublished works, with dates those works fall into the public domain.
The Copyright Genie This tool can help users determine if a work is protected by copyright and by what terms.
Fair Use
Fair use allows users of copyrighted works the right to exercise without permission some of the rights normally reserved for copyright owners. This concept is used as a defense in a court of law. Determining what might be considered a fair use in court can be an uncertain process, but these tools can assist you in assessing your use of a copyrighted work.
Fair Use Evaluator Developed by Michael Brewer in cooperation with the ALA Office for Information Technology Policy, this interactive tool can help assist in evaluating whether or not use of a copyrighted work could be considered a fair use under U.S. Copyright Law.