Exciting new online access...
Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library is pleased to announce that we are now receiving Sacra Pagina and Berit Olam commentaries in a full-text online format. We have the following available:
Major Online Resources...
Oxford Biblical Studies Online...Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library is excited to announce that we now have access to a major resource for Biblical study and scholarship, the Oxford Biblical Studies Online. This resource is very rich in content and includes the full-text of six different Bibles as well as in-depth commentaries and concordances. You can look up specific Bible verses and compare them with another text or commentary. Use this link to view a short introduction to OBSO by Michael Coogan, the Editor in Chief.
New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed...This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
The Cambridge Companion Series contains the full-text of many Cambridge companions on religious topics and persons.
The eBook Religion Collection contains the full-text of over 4,100 scholarly books on a very broad range of religious topics, including ethics, history of religions, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism and religious texts.
Additionally, the Loeb Classical Library Online, which provides the full-text of every book in the Loeb Classical Library, includes works of Church Fathers (Basil, Clement of Alexandria, Eusebius, Ignatius, Polycarp and others).
Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library Resources for Biblical Study and Scholarship
Click here for books of interest for Biblical scholarship recently added to the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library collection.
Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library has a rich collection of Biblical study tools. Use the tabs across the top of this page to aid in identifying specific sources which may be useful. Please note that the sources listed in this guide are only a starting point. The lists of resources are not comprehensive and there are many other excellent resources that space did not permit to be included.
More general resources are also very useful for Biblical studies. These include databases (e.g. ATLA, Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online, Academic Source Complete, etc.), journals (e.g. Journal of Theological Studies, Modern Theology, etc.) and encyclopedias (e.g. New Catholic Encyclopedia). These and other general sources are included in the Religion and Theology Subject Guide.
Although many of the print sources listed in this guide are reference copies (shelved in the reference section of the library on the first floor), we do have circulating copies of many of the titles. Check the online catalog to see what's available. And if you want to browse through the print books on the Bible, this link will provide an overview of where they are located (click on "Subclass BS, the Bible" for detailed list).
Recently Added Bible Scholarship Sources
Recently Added Circulating Books
Apocalypticism in the Bible and Its World. Frederick J. Murphy. BS 646 .M87 2012
Biblical Rhetoric and Rhetorical Criticism. Jack R. Lundbom. BS 537 .L86 2013
Composition of the Pentateuch. Joel S. Baden. BS 1225.52 .B3325 2012
Exodus 1-19 and Exodus 20-40. William Johnstone. BS 1245.53 .J64 2014 TEXT, BS 1245.53 .J646 2014 TEXT
Ezra-Nehemiah. Paul L. Redditt. BS 1355.53 .R43 2014 TEXT
Hermemeutics; an Introduction. Anthony C. Thiselton. BS 476 .T458 2009
Introduction to the Medieval Bible. Frans van Liere. BS 68 .L54 2014
Oxford Handbook of Apocalyptic Literature. John J. Collins, ed. BS 646 .O94 2014
Paul and the Faithfulness of God, v.1 & 2. N.T.Wright. BS 2506.3 .W75 2013
Paul and the Philosophers. Ward Blanton, ed. BS 2651 .P38325 2013
Paul for Today's Church; a Commentary on First Corinthians. Stanley B. Marrow. BS 2675.53 .M37 2013
Pauline Perspectives; Essays on Paul, 1978 - 2013. N.T. Wright. BS 2651 .W75 2013
Psalm 63; a Study of Its Imagery and Theology in the Context of the Psalter. Zbigniew Zieba. BS 1450 63rd .Z54 2013
Reading the Old Testament in Antioch. Robert C. Hill. BS 1160 .H56 2010
Scripture and the Authority of God; How to Read the Bible Today. N.T. Wright. BS 480 .W83 2011
Second Corinthians. Raymond F. Collins. BS 2675.53 .C66 2013
The Ten Commandments; Interpreting the Bible in the Medieval World. Lesley Smith. BS 1285.52 .S64 2014
Under the Gaze of the Bible. Jean-Louis Chretien. BS 511.3 .C47513 2015
The Violence of Scripture; Overcoming the Old Testament's Troubling Legacy. Eric A. Seibert. BS 1199 .V56 S45 2012
"What Did Ezekiel See?"; Christian Exegesis of Ezekiel's Vision of the Chariot from Irenaeus to Gregory the Great. Angela Russell Christman. BS 1545.52 .C48 2005
972 - 721-4130
Biblical Study and Scholarship Resources
Need assistance in finding sources for Bible research and scholarship? Contact Susan Vaughan, the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library religion/theology subject specialist at firstname.lastname@example.org or 972-721-4130.
Additionally, research assistance is available at the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library Help Desk, email@example.com or 972-721-5315.