A guide to help with research for Dr. Petersen's American Civ I class.
Personal online reference and bibliography center that collects, stores, and organizes citations.
- RefWorks LibGuide
A LibGuide explaining more about how to use the RefWorks Citation system.
- Academic Source Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing with abstracts for more than 9,300 journals. It has 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The PDF content goes back to 1865. (EBSCO - TexShare) Remote Access with University Network Account
- Encyclopaedia Britannica
This encyclopaedia provides a broad scope of information, including topics related to the Civil War. Speeches, images and other basic information can be found within this publication.
Provides access to archived scholarly journals, JSTOR is commonly referred to as "Journal STORage." It contains disciplines that are divided into several modules. UD subscribes to only three of many modules: Arts and Humanities I, Arts and Humanities II, and Language and Literature. Journals may be browsed or searched, and the full text is for most titles begin with volume 1. Although some issues begin in the 1800s, all have an embargo, which may be as far back as 8 years. That is, none are published in the current years; and it is a “moving wall” so the last date changes each year. Some of the titles are continued to the present in Project Muse. (ITHAKA – Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account.
- Project Muse
Online collection of full text peer-reviewed journals from scholarly publishers. This collection complements JSTOR. (Muse - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account.
- America: History and Life Full Text
An authoritative index for resources in U. S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers book reviews, collections, dissertations, journals, and various media. Full text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.. (EBSCO - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account
- Digital History
Created by the University of Houston, this site provides general reference sources for American history dating back to the 1700's to modern times.
- Documenting the American South
A digital publishing initiative from UNC that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
- LexisNexis Academic Universe
Provides access to a wide range of news (includes New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times), business (company news, industry forecasts), government (legislative news, tax information), legal (news, case law) and reference information. Some articles are full-text. (LexisNexis - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account
- New York Times Historic (1851-2009)
This Historical edition of the New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. It includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, photos, stock photos, and advertisements. (Proquest - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account
- Living Room Candidate
Collection of Presidential Election television commercials from 1952-to 2012.